Quick blog post and comment – my three favourite programming jargon

This post is rather a comment or a reaction to an article on the blog Coding Horror than my independent and own writing. But I must write it, because I like these terminologies. I would like to learn all of these jargons, sadly it is impossible in these days, so I chose my three favourite word. You can bank on it that I’ll use them as much as possible.

1. Yoda conditions
Do you remember the following classical quote? Yes, it is about a Yoda condition:
Occasionally, you will see a C programmer write something like if (0==strlen(x)), putting the constant on the left hand side of the == . This is a really good sign. It means that they were stung once too many times by confusing = and == and have forced themselves to learn a new habit to avoid that trap.” But it is not the reason why Yoda conditions are so cool. The true reason is the Star Wars. Star Wars is the religion of the nerds. “There is only one trilogy“. That’s why Yoda conditions are so important and that’s why they are at the top of the list of Coding Horror and that’s why they are at the top of my list.

2. Ninja comments
Ninjas are also nerdy, because they have “super powers”. Ninjas can be invisible or they win the Mortal Kombat tournament, so they are really cool guys. (Mortal Kombat is full of ninjas, think about Scorpion, Reptile, Ermac, Sub Zero, Noob Saibot…) I like to think that ninjas are nearby, and it is a good reason to forget comments and commenting.

3. Smurf naming convention
The Smurfs was a very popular cartoon TV Show when I was child, so I must add them to my list. And yes, it is pretty interesting that all of the smurf’s names start with the same prefix…

It is a small and recreational article, the next post will be more serious, sorry, but I’m learning pretty much in these days so I need some recreation.

About vrichard86

I'm Richard and I'm an enthusiastic coder. I want to be better and I think a professional journal is a great self improvement tool. Welcome to my blog, to my hq, to my home on the web!
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.